No-contact apprehension takes effect in 6 Quezon City areas

After a four-month trial period, Quezon City will formally implement the no-contact apprehension (NCAP) program in six of the 15 approved locations on Friday.

The NCAP is a program aimed to reduce physical apprehensions of motorists by installing closed-circuit television (CCTV) cameras in key areas to capture traffic violations.

Dexter Cardenas, officer-in-charge of Quezon City’s Task Force on Transport and Traffic Management, said the NCAP will be executed in the following areas across the city: P. Tuazon – 13th, P. Tuazon – 15th, E Rodriguez – Hemady, E Rodriguez –Tomas Morato, Kamias – Kalayaan, and East Avenue – BIR.

“Ang pinapagana po natin ngayon starting today, anim na location muna. So in other areas, patuloy pa rin ‘yong manual apprehension natin of violators so that within the approved na locations, hindi na manghuhuli doon ‘yong ating mga enforcer,” Cardenas detailed in a interview for ABS-CBN News’ On The Spot.

(So far, we’re implementing it in six locations. In other areas, the manual apprehension of violators will still be done. But in the approved locations, enforcers will no longer makeapprehensions.)

Cardenas added that a notice of violation will be sent to the registered vehicle owner within 14 days following the CCTV capture of the violation.

According to the Quezon City government, violators must settle their fines within 30 days after receipt of the notice. Payment may be done via the website, over-the-counter in select banks, or through cash payment at the ground floor of the Department of Public Order and Safety Building in Quezon City.

The implementation of the NCAP was also initially approved for implementation in the following areas:

Quirino Highway – Susano Road (Novaliches Bayan)

Quirino Highway – Zabarte Road

Quirino Highway – Tandang Sora (Sangandaan)

E Rodriguez – Gilmore

Aurora – Hemady

Aurora – Gilmore

Aurora – Broadway

Aurora – 20th street

West Avenue – Baler

The date of the implementation of the NCAP in these areas has yet to be determined by the Quezon City government.

According to Cardenas, the Department of Transportation has instructed local government units to implement the NCAP in the National Capital Region but only Manila, Parañaque, Valenzuela and Quezon City have so far followed the directive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *